A Nod to the Past

I was really struggling yesterday to come up with a theme-nothing felt quite right and I thought for a little while that I was just going to have to do something really open-ended. That is not a big deal really, but I like the challenge every month of having to come up with something that pushes me into a different direction and forces me to try some new things. Seeing as how I am using my iPhone almost exclusively these days ( I think I am going to have to give myself an app allowance) I tried to think of something I could do that would offer an interesting challenge for the month.

And then I thought of Impressionism.

Yes . . . Impressionism.

Now I will be the first to admit, I am not a big fan of the Impressionists-in art history classes my eyes tended to glaze over when discussion moved to them ( I was waiting for Whistler and the Fauves).  And then I remembered how photography influenced the Impressionists and how today Impressionism has influenced a number of contemporary photographers. Next I began to look for examples of photo impressionism and I was not disappointed. There are several wonderful examples of Photo Impressionism (sometimes called Neo-Impressionism) on the web and a wide variety of interpretations and methods. And I thought, that would be a good theme to work with this month.

This image was taken with the iPhone using a technique called slow shutter or dragged shutter panning. It is simply setting the camera to a slow shutter speed and panning the subject-for this I used the great app Slow Shutter ($1.99) which allows greater control over the camera and shutter speed.  This was taken of a tree in my backyard using a 4-second shutter speed. There was minimal processing done with Distressed FX and Photo Toaster.

For Today: Small Tree

Small Tree

Small Tree

2 thoughts on “A Nod to the Past

Leave a Reply

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

Home Comes Alive

Refurbishing a home, a self, a life...

