Forgotten

I found this today as I was moving some things around. It is a small toy rabbit, made of wood with brass ornament. There is a small latch at the front which when you unlatch it, allows the top of the rabbit to open up. A great place to store secret treasures. It also has wheels so it can be rolled on a floor or tabletop. Jack Henry just barks at him.

I am not sure how old this little guy is-but it appears to perhaps date from the late nineteenth century or so. As I was holding the rabbit, it occurred to me again that at one time some small hands held the toy too. And who knows what secrets it once held? It really is a gem of a find and I have moved him into my office where I can see him everyday.

Image taken with iPhone and processed with Photo Toaster and Distressed FX

For today: Trojan Rabbit

Trojan Rabbit

Trojan Rabbit

6 thoughts on “Forgotten

  1. This is a wonderful rabbit any child (or adult) would love. I would want it on my desk too. Just think of the history it has seen! Dogs don’t seem to “get” wheels so I totally understand Jack Henry barking at this rabbit.

Leave a Reply

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue living it up in Boston, Massachusetts

Dogs Are Awesome

Blog Everything Dog

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

