Time of the Season

It’s cherry time–one of the great treats of the summer. Unfortunately, it does not last nearly long enough.

I picked up some great looking fruit earlier this week and decide to work with it today using Hipstamatic with a couple of different lenses and one film type.

I had been interested for awhile in the film called Cano Cafenol which offers a kind of aged look to an image. My palette tends to run towards warm colors, so this was a natural choice for me. Then I took a series of shots using three different lenses: the Madalena which adds some additional warmth to an image, the Doris which gives extra saturation and contrast and lastly, the Lowy which is supposed to emphasize detail. I will admit part of the challenge I think with the Hipstamatic is the vast number of choices you have before you in taking a picture. To help me sort through I have been relying a lot on the Hipstamatic site which offers brief overviews of most of the films, lenses, and flashes that are available which is a big help in trying to figure out what you might want to do. In each case, I did no post-processing with the images.

So here is the first effort with the Cano Cafenol film and Madalena lens:

Cano Cafenol and Madalena

Cano Cafenol and Madalena

Cano Cafenol and Doris lens

Cano Cafenol and Doris

Cano Cafenol and Doris

and finally Cano Cafenol and the Lowy

Cano Cafenol and Lowy

Cano Cafenol and Lowy

It may appear to be merely differences without a distinction in each image, but I could tell there was a slight shift of color and tone in each. Part of the problem was that I lost light and so the images are a bit darker than I would have liked. I could have added flash to each image, but as a rule I do not use them if I do not have to. Also, the borders need to be taken into account as well, as one cherry tended to fall into the right side border area.Β 

In the end, I can see using the Cafenol a lot, but I think I may have to continue experimenting with the different lenses and I am not sure I have found a combination that works for me. The whole process got me to thinking about dedicating at least part of the blog to looking more closely at Hipstamatic and its challenges and opportunities for iPhoneographers.

Images taken with Hipstamatic

For today: Cherries

 

20 thoughts on “Time of the Season

  1. Definitely a lot going for it. Prefer the first one but do like the way that right hand cherry eclipses the frame on the other two. Looking forward to more of your experimentation, Meg.

  2. Beautiful series and a great description of your selection process of Hipstamatic filters. I agree, the vast choice of lenses and films with a myriad of combinations and such subtle results requires a good knowledge of Hipstamatic lenses and films to get the desired effect. I find Hipstamatic a bit intimidating for this reason!

    Do you shoot knowing what mood and effect you want to create and then find your subject matter or do you find a subject and then select the filters?

    Love your blog!

    • Thanks so much for your comment-no, I must admit I have no idea of what I am doing when I work with Hipstamatic-I get as far as looking at the subject and thinking “I think I would like this to be b/w” or how about a saturated color and that is about as far as I can take it, in part because of all the different films and lenses. That is where the website has been helpful, though it has not kept up I think with all of the new things they have been offering. I also have been keeping notes which is kind of a new thing for me, but I really would like to get a better handle on the app.

      Thanks again for visiting-and your blog is wonderful! I am very glad to have found it-

    • It’s easy to take the plunge-just jump on in-I think for me, once I got past the idea of having everything be *perfect* it really helped me to take chances-I look forward to seeing what you do!

      • It will probably be a while. I have a little freebie program, but very little knowledge. It will take me time to save up for the real ‘toys’, and I want a new camera first! Hobbies…what can I say? πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  3. I always enjoy looking at the same subject photographed with different lens/film combinations and was thinking about posting something along these lines next week. Thanks for introducing me to Cafenol, Meg.

  4. They each have something going for them. I like the resultant low specular highlights, always a plus when photographing such a shiny subject. I like this! πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜Ž More plz.

Leave a Reply

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

Home Comes Alive

Refurbishing a home, a self, a life...

