On the Street Where I Live

is this old granite street marker. I remember seeing these in a lot of small towns–you do not see them around much anymore.

For the month of August, I have decided to up the ante of my challenges-the theme for this month is one I undertook when I first started my post-a-day activities. So for the month of August, I am going to photograph my street. The catch? My street is only one block long. When I did this the first time it was between Halloween and Thanksgiving so there was a lot to find. However, late summer I think is going to be a bit more challenging-we will see.

A little background about my street-it was laid out in the 1920s as part of what started out as a streetcar suburb for the city of Charlotte. My street was historically a working-class neighborhood, with small bungalows and later modest Minimal Traditional and Colonial Revival dwellings. As you will see over the month, a great deal has changed. The house I live in, a 1927 bungalow was the very first house built on the street-it is possible that it have been a model to attract buyers.

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed and Pic-Tap-Go

For today: Ashland Street Marker

Welcome to Ashland Avenue

Welcome to Ashland Avenue

6 thoughts on “On the Street Where I Live

Leave a Reply

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

Home Comes Alive

Refurbishing a home, a self, a life...

