New Direction

Dear WP Peeps-

After almost three years of taking photographs everyday as well as Take 12! Challenges, I have decided–reluctantly I might add–that it is time to take a break.

This was a really difficult decision to make. I have gotten so used to making time everyday to take photographs that it is hard to imagine trying a different routine. But a couple of weeks ago, it was gently pointed out that perhaps a break was sorely needed-I had gotten to the point where I was not using photography as my meditative practice but as one that increasingly was fixated on getting the one image that would work for the blog. And I think it started to show in some of my photographs over the last month–maybe longer. I just was not seeing, if that makes sense. So then the frustration would start and being the obsessive-compulsive that I am, it would just turn into a hash of things.

So what does this mean for those of you who have read this far?

It means that for the month of September I am taking a break from this blog. I have not decided yet about my other blog Little Dogs Laughed-am still thinking about that one. I will do my Take 12! challenge as I do enjoy that exercise and I find I cannot do completely away with routine. I may still go and take photographs everyday, but I may also turn my energies to some other photographic processes that I have been wanting to experiment with–I just do not know. And for now, that is okay-I do not need to.

So thank you all for bearing with me, for sticking around this long and hopefully, I will see many of you again in October. In the meantime, I will be continuing to visit your blogs, catch up on comments on mine and think of new ways to express myself with the camera.

With many thanks and most grateful appreciation for all of your support-

Meg

Watch This Space

Watch This Space

31 thoughts on “New Direction

  1. I definitely get the compulsive aspect to blogging. Sometimes, we need to step back and gain perspective to bring things back into focus (pun intended). Hope you are able to rest and recharge, Megan.

    • Compulsive? Who, me? ๐Ÿ˜‰ But you are absolutely right Jeff-just in the short time I have stopped, it has been amazing what the break has done- Be well and I look forward to hearing more about your new life journey ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for your support!

  2. Rest and recharge dear Meg. A wise person knows when to stop and listen to the heartbeat.
    I’ll “see” you on the Take 12

  3. I completely understand the need to take a break, sometimes we just get burned out. I admire the persistence and discipline it took to keep up your daily postings as long as you did. I hope that after taking a breather you’ll be able to resume your efforts. For me, this blog has been a fascinating glimpse into the daily life of an old friend. Whatever you end up doing, I wish you well.

  4. How clever of you to realise it was time for a break instead of just pushing on. Enjoy your rest. I’m looking forward to October – or whenever you fell is the right time – to enjoying and being inspired by your beautiful photographs again.

  5. Hi Meg, just wanted to thank you for all of your visits and likes…I do see them and they are much appreciated! I enjoy your eye and photos as well and will strive to get here more often when you are back from your break,
    Take care, Al.

  6. Dear Meg,
    It was long time I have been around here( my readers blog) and I read this post just now!
    Completely understand you and hope you had a great break โค๏ธ
    Glad to see your beautiful photos again and looking forward for more your postsโค๏ธ
    xxx

  7. Hi Meg, thanks for the “follow,” your interest in my painting, and leading me to your site! I see that you took (are taking) a break for a while. I don’t know where in your break cycle you are but I just wanted to say that stepping back a bit is refreshing, often leading to new pursuits of creativity and fresh insights. Wishing you much luck in your respite and your artisitic journey! Marian

Leave a Reply

Chocolatechipsblog

A family of Chocolate Labrador breeders and lovers.

Doggedly Yours

It is a dog's life.

Meg's Mutts n Stuff

A lifestyle and resource blog for pet people

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue living it up in Boston, Massachusetts

