End of Year Reflections

I have noticed lately that Facebook has offered you the option of re-posting photographs taken some time ago. Many of the ones that I have seen started back in 2011 and 2012 when I was getting underway with my taking a daily photograph. It was fascinating (and at times uncomfortable) to see what I was doing. I know this is all a process, but there were definitely some cringe-worthy moments as I looked at the overly processed and textured images, images that were a great idea in my mind, but fell flat in the execution and just other picture-taking foibles. I also know that I had absolutely no clue of what I was doing–which I think worked for me. I picked a theme every month and did my best to interpret it-again, a lot of hits and misses there too. 

The other day I received an email talking about how if I wanted to improve my iPhoneography I should commit to taking a picture a day. Synchronicity? Perhaps. As far the email was concerned though, this was an opportunity to buy an app that would give you suggestions, themes-basically doing the thought work for you. While I do not see myself going that route, I am still thinking about what that process might look like that would keep it fresh and challenging. One of my sisters is currently doing her own photo a day, centered on gratitude, which has been interesting to see unfolding.

Anyway a look back at the year at Move the Chair-all photos taken with iPhone 5s, and processed either with the iPhone 5s or iPad using a variety of apps.

Thanks to everyone who has taken the time to visit, comment, and follow. This blog has been a huge canvas to play with and I am grateful for the interest. Happy New Year to all!

 

22 thoughts on “End of Year Reflections

  1. Happy new year to you too Meg! I hope it is healthy and creative too. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with for 2016 as it is always a pleasure to view you images and read your words.

  2. I know what you mean. I now look back on my older photos and think what on earth was I doing then. But our blogs do show our progression to being more refined, especially with new apps and editing software. I have loved seeing your work. It is beautiful. So all the best for 2016 and I look forward to seeing more of your work.

    • Oh I know-I am sure the dogs were wondering what all those “oh no’s” and “really, I really did that?” were all about 😉 But you are right in being able to see how the learning curve plays out-I have really enjoyed your monochromatic series a lot Raewyn and I look forward to seeing what you do in the coming months-Many thanks!

  3. Love your pictures, Meg. A nice look back. Looking forward to what you’ll show us in 2016. I’m planning on retiring in the spring, so I’ll have more time and energy to devote to photography myself.

Leave a Reply

Chocolatechipsblog

A family of Chocolate Labrador breeders and lovers.

Doggedly Yours... truly a dog's life.

Gavin and Wyatt tell it all.

Meg's Mutts n Stuff

A lifestyle and resource blog for pet people

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue Dog Living in Boston, Massachusetts

