2/365 Still Life

As the Christmas decorations come down and January moves on in, it can be kind of bleak and bare in the house. So I set aside some of the branches that had been cut earlier from the Christmas tree and put together a quick still life study. It is pretty basic, and probably could have used something with a bit of height I think. But for today, the three elements of fir branches, pine cones, and clementines offer an alternative to the winter doldrums of the early year.

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed, Formulas, iColorama and Stackables

For today: Winter Still Life #1

Winter Still Life #1

Winter Still Life #1

11 thoughts on “2/365 Still Life

    • Carina, I think sometimes I am just a frustrated painter who takes photographs ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love working with still-lifes and textures to capture those painterly qualities-and thank you so much for taking the time to stop by-Happy New Year!

  1. Very nice. Still lifes have never been my forte, perhaps I should give them a shot (so to speak). And good luck with your 365 project, although it should actually be a 366 project this year : )

    • I know, when I saw that it was a leap year, I just kind of groaned for a moment-I started doing more still life studies this last year-I find them very meditative and particularly when I am working with flowers, I am reminded of my mother. Right now-I am thinking February as “Bergman Month”-it is usually nice, cold and grey ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks Bill!

Leave a Reply

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

Home Comes Alive

Refurbishing a home, a self, a life...

