17/366 Loved and Cherished

Clearly a theme at work here, and I am just going where it is taking me-

Dogs have been part of my life since I was a child. My father grew up with dogs, my mother’s family had cats and dogs. And I have had the privilege of knowing many fine canine companions so far in my life–Joe, Jason, Jacob, Jonah, Comet, Winchester, Gremlin, Abby, and the current crew–Jack Henry, Hubble and Anna–to name a few. (I did not grow up in a single dog household and I am afraid that particular family tradition has continued with myself and my siblings.) 

I collect things about dogs–mostly of breeds I have had in the past or currently have now. Figurines, cigarette cards, paper ephemera–anything that strikes me as something that is reminiscent of my dogs, past and present. Putting together this still life included some pages from an old 19th-century book about the raising of dogs, specifically hunting dogs, some cigarette cards depicting Foxhounds and Black Labs, a collar that belonged to German Shepherd Abby, and a picture of my father as a tyke with his dog, I believe, named “Buddy.”

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed, Stackables, and Formulas

For today: Loved and Cherished

Loved and Cherished

Loved and Cherished

6 thoughts on “17/366 Loved and Cherished

  1. You are putting together some pretty fine still life collages here, keep following that Muse! But with all this talk about dogs, what about poor old Jor?

Leave a Reply

Chocolatechipsblog

A family of Chocolate Labrador breeders and lovers.

Doggedly Yours... Dogs, Humor, and History.

Barking, Laughs, and Thoughts by dogs and their person.

Meg's Mutts n Stuff

A lifestyle and resource blog for pet people

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue Dog Living in Boston, Massachusetts

