81/366 Purple Callas

I forgot I had this etched glass vase. I think it belonged to my mother’s mother, but I remember it growing up as being used for my mother’s roses, usually white ones. The color is what you might call “amethyst.” When I first spotted these mini-callas, they appeared almost black, their purple color was so deep. I lightened it up a bit so that the details might show up a bit better-The image originally had a lot more negative space and I know that cropping is something you should do in your mind before you hit “click” but oh, well-

Image taken and processed with iPhone 5s and Snapseed, Stackables, Formulas and iColorama

For today: Purple Callas

Purple Callas

Purple Callas

 

13 thoughts on “81/366 Purple Callas

  1. Quite lovely with the monochromatic effect and vintage character. Never mind what we should or shouldn’t do in our quest to be image-makers. That’s why we can be gentle editors or intense editors. I prefer gently editing an image. But sometimes a bit more reaches my original intention. Meg, this image is one of my favorites of your latest efforts.

  2. Meg, this is quite delicious! What a deep beautiful purple black and the callas match the vase in colour and mood, lovely.

Leave a Reply

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

Home Comes Alive

Refurbishing a home, a self, a life...

