82/366 Dancing with the Dark #1

I promise–no more purple callas after today.

I have been wrestling with what to do with my flower still life studies in terms of trying different things. I have been reading a book about photographer Robert Mapplethorpe’s amazing flower photographs, and while I cannot even attempt to come close to his genius, the images did give me some ideas about different things to try, especially in using light and different materials.  And lucky you all-you get to look at my experiments-

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed, Stackables, Formulas and iColorama-

For today: Dancing with the Dark #1

Dancing with the Dark

Dancing with the Dark

 

14 thoughts on “82/366 Dancing with the Dark #1

  1. Love what you’ve done here Meg, and will be following with interest to see what you get up to next with your flower series.

  2. WOW! I mean, OMG WOW! You really outdid yourself on this one! That black scarf creates such a spectral figure, part of which mimics the curve of the calla. And the muted contrast between the purple, green and black is wonderful.

    • When I read the first sentence Sally, I had this image of scooping this little creature called Creativity and stuffing it back into its box-a reflex action I still have about taking chances and experimenting-“floating into the unknown” is a good visual for me-much better than “diving” 😉 though sometimes that works when necessary. Thank you so much Sally-I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

brandyandmoose

Living it up in Boston, MA

Dogs Are Awesome

Blog Everything Dog

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

