103/366 I Will Always Watch Over You

I try to take frequent breaks during work, particularly as the weather is getting warmer. Most of the time I head out to the back yard, sometimes to play ball with Hubble, other times to take in the overwhelming task of trying to tame a backyard that seems determined to go back to the wild. Sometimes I just sit and listen to the birds and squirrels. There are a few tiny graves in the far back-the final resting place for a friend’s cats. Hubble and I have also had the sad duty of digging small graves for birds and other wildlife whose lives have ended here. Each of those graves is marked too–at least for awhile, by a stone and some small flowers placed near-a lingering practice from childhood.

One constant throughout my entire time here has been this stone cat which marks the grave of Greta, a wise and caring calico-I think of her keeping a mindful watch over the backyard activities each day.

I have taken many photographs of this figure, but each time I find something new to take in.

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed, Stackables and Formulas-

For today: I Will Always Watch Over You

I Will Always Watch Over You

I Will Always Watch Over You

 

6 thoughts on “103/366 I Will Always Watch Over You

  1. I see what you mean by wild backyard, but I think the calico cat would approve and the statue looks entirely at home here.

Leave a Reply

Chocolatechipsblog

A family of Chocolate Labrador breeders and lovers.

Doggedly Yours

It is a dog's life.

Meg's Mutts n Stuff

A lifestyle and resource blog for pet people

the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter

my tales, travels and photography

Brandy and Moose

A Bernese Mountain Dog & a Mixed Breed Rescue Dog Living in Boston, Massachusetts

