188/366 Remembrance

This lovely, delicately pink gladiolus was found in a good friend’s garden. It was already starting to lose its blooms, so she graciously cut it for me so I could photograph it. I like these flowers, (my mother did not, finding them too funereal, which given where you often see them, I can understand) but I really did not know much about them. What I did take away from my reading was that they symbolize remembrance and integrity. Given that Roman gladiators supposedly wore them around their necks for protection, I found that quite interesting.

Image taken with iPhone 5s and processed with Snapseed, iColorama, Stackables and Pic-Tap-Go

For today: Remembrance

Remembrance

Remembrance

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “188/366 Remembrance

  1. Extraordinary to think that gladiators went around with gladioli flowers around their necks! It’s not something the history books talk about! I like your presentation…

  2. Very lovely. Delicate! This was one of my mother-in-law’s favorite. I never liked them a lot as they are so short lived and end up really squishy as the go down.. Obviously personal preference!

    • I know what you mean about the squishyness-this is very different from the glads you tend to see in arrangements. It came from Paula’s garden and she told me that this was a *vintage* type of plant-its blooms are very different. Thank you Joan!

    • Exactly! I found that quite interesting as well. This is a beautiful plant. My friend has tried to incorporate more historic plants and blooms in her garden which makes for a very interesting mix-Thanks for looking Raewyn!

Leave a Reply

brandyandmoose

Living it up in Boston, MA

Dogs Are Awesome

Blog Everything Dog

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

