202/366 To Freedom Land

I think I will just let Ms. Cather speak today:

“The new country lay open before me: there were no fences in those days, and I could choose my own way over the grass uplands, trusting the pony to get me home again. Sometimes I followed the sunflower-bordered roads. Fuchs told me that the sunflowers were introduced into that country by the Mormons . . .  the members of the first exploring party, crossing the plains to Utah, scattered sunflower seeds as they went. The next summer, when the long trains of wagons came through with all the women and children, they had a sunflower trail to follow. . . . that legend has stuck in my mind, and sunflower-bordered roads always seem to me the roads to freedom.”
― Willa Cather, My Ántonia

Image taken with Hipstamatic and a double exposure, using the Chan lens and Runway film and processed by iColorama, Snapseed, Pic-Tap-Go, Stackables and Formulas

For today: To Freedom Land

To Freedom Land

To Freedom Land

6 thoughts on “202/366 To Freedom Land

    • Thank you Bill-I rediscovered Willa Cather last summer after a long hiatus–I had read her stuff years ago (because I had to of course), so reading her again was really good-clearly I was more open to hearing what she had to say-

    • Thank you Julie-there are still some areas that are preserved prairie land in Nebraska and you can see sunflowers as well as lots of other wildflowers-it gives you a good idea of what the land looked like when the first settlers came through-

Leave a Reply

stripSearchLA

Stories about Los Angeles and its people.

clare kelly illustrator

Illustrator Artist Designer

By Alanna Pass

This is my brain on creativity

Home Comes Alive

Refurbishing a home, a self, a life...

